Proceedings of the Statistical and Social Inquiry Society of Ireland.

SESSION 1925-26.

FIRST MEETING

(19th October, 1925).

The Society met on Monday, October 19, at 8 p.m., at the Royal Irish Academy, the President (Professor Oldham) in the chair.

A paper was read by Sir Thomas F. Molony, Bart., on "The Probation of Offenders."

A vote of thanks to the reader of the paper was carried on the motion of Mr. Justice Meredith, seconded by Sir William Thompson. In the discussion on the paper which followed Messrs. R. J. Kelly and R. W. Booth took part. Miss Gargan also spoke by permission of the President.

The following officers were elected for the Session 1925-6: President, Professor Oldham; Vice-Presidents (additional), J. Hooper and Herbert Wood; Hon. Treasurer, George E. Shanahan; Hon. Secretaries, Sparkhall Brown, Ninian Falkiner and Robert Geary.

As the result of a ballot the Council was elected as follows: T. Barrington, C. J. Barry, R. G. Davis, J. C. M. Eason, J. Fitzgerald, E. Geary, J. Johnston, Dr. Leet, S. G. Lyon, C. McCarthy, R. J. Mortished, Dr. Rowlette.

Mr. D. J. McGrath was elected as a member of the Society.

SECOND MEETING

(3rd December, 1925).

The Society met on Thursday, December 3rd, at 8 p.m., at the Royal Irish Academy, the President (Professor Oldham) in the chair.

The President gave his inaugural address on "Reform of the Irish Population Census." A vote of thanks to Professor Oldham for his address was carried on the resolution of Sir William Thompson, seconded by Mr. C. Eason.

In the discussion on the paper Dr. Rowlette and Messrs. Booth, Homan, Hooper, McCarron and J. C. Eason took part.

The following new members were formally elected : Hon. Ethel McNaghten, Miss Margaret Haire-Forster, Miss B. Stafford, Mr. John P. Tobin and Mr. R. F. Browne.

THIRD MEETING

(7th January, 1926).

The Society met on Thursday, January 7th, at 8 p.m., at the Royal Irish Academy, the President (Professor Oldham) in the chair.

A paper on "Trade Union Organisation in Ireland" was read by Mr. R. J. P. Mortished.

A vote of thanks to the reader of the paper was passed on the motion of Mr. R. W. Booth, seconded by Mr. J. C. M. Eason.

Professor Shields, Miss L. Bennett and Mr. C. McGloughlin spoke on the subject of the paper, the two latter by permission of the President.

The following new members were formally elected: Mr. R. O'Murchu, Mr. Thomas Morrissey (Assistant Registrar-General), Mr. G. Duncan, B.A., and Mr. A. C. Ferguson.

FOURTH MEETING

(11th February, 1926).

The Society met on Thursday, February 11th, at 8 p.m., at the Royal Irish Academy. In the absence of the President owing to illness Sir William Thompson took the chair.

On the motion of Sir William Thompson, seconded by Dr. Falkiner, a resolution of condolence was passed on the death of the Right Hon. Sir Robert Matheson, ex-President of the Society.

A paper on "Unemployment: Its Causes and Remedies" was read by Mr. J. C. M. Eason.

A vote of thanks to the reader of the paper was passed on the motion of Mr. R. J. P. Mortished, seconded by Mr. W. McMillan.

In the discussion on the paper which followed Mr. H. Dockrell, Mr. C. McGloughlin, Senator O'Farrell and Profes-

sor Shields took part. The first three spoke as visitors by permission of the Chairman.

Mr. Donal O'Connor, c.A., and Mr. Leo T. MacCaulay, M.A., LL.B., were elected to membership of the Society.

FIFTH MEETING

(25th March, 1926).

The Society met on Thursday, March 25th, at 8 p.m., at the Royal Irish Academy, Sir William Thompson in the chair.

On the motion of the Chairman, seconded by Mr. C. Eason, the following resolution was passed :---

"That the members of the Statistical and Social Inquiry Society of Ireland, assembled at this meeting, express their deep-felt sorrow at the death of their esteemed President, and wish to place on record their sense of the irreparable loss which the Society has sustained in the death of a member who for many years and in many capacities rendered valuable and ungrudging service."

Sir William Thompson read a paper on "The First Irish Free State Census and its importance to the country."

On the motion of Father Finlay, seconded by Mr. J. C. M. Eason, a vote of thanks was passed to the reader of the paper.

In the discussion which followed the following took part : Mr. Gordon Campbell, Mr. McCarron, Mr. Charles Eason and Mr. Hubbard Clark (the latter as a visitor by permission of the Chairman).

A letter was read from Miss Matheson thanking the Society for its vote of condolence on the death of her father, Sir Robert Matheson.

Mr. Hector Hughes, B.L., was formally elected a member of the Society.

SIXTH MEETING

(6th May, 1926).

The Society met on Thursday, May 6th, at 8 p.m., at the Royal Irish Academy, Sir William Thompson in the chair.

A letter from Mrs. Oldham was read thanking the Society for the resolution of sympathy on the death of her husband passed at the last meeting.

Mr. J. Hubbard Clark and Mr. J. J. Crowe were formally elected members of the Society.

Mr. Thomas Barrington read a paper entitled "A Review of Irish Agricultural Prices."

A vote of thanks to the reader of the paper was passed on the motion of Dr. Ninian Falkiner, seconded by Mr. Shanahan.

In the discussion on Mr. Barrington's paper the following took part: Mr. Joseph Johnston, Mr. G. Greene, Mr. D. Hegarty, Mr. P. F. Baxter and Mr. R. Wilson, the last four being visitors spoke on the invitation of the Chairman.

SESSION 1926-27.

FIRST MEETING

(12th November, 1926).

The Society met on Friday, November 12th, at 8 p.m., at the Royal Irish Academy, Sir William Thompson in the chair.

A vote of thanks was passed to the Council of the Royal Irish Academy for giving the Society the use of a room for its meetings during the past session and for extending the privilege to the coming session.

The following officers were elected for 1926-7: President, Mr. Justice Meredith; Treasurer, Mr. George E. Shanahan; Secretaries, Mr. Sparkhall Brown, Dr. Ninian Falkiner and Mr. Robert Geary.

As the result of a ballot the Council was elected as follows : T. Barrington, C. J. Barry, R. G. Davis, J. C. M. Eason, J. Fitzgerald, Joseph Johnston, S. G. Lyon, J. Mackie, J. Maguire, T. Morrissey, R. J. Mortished and Dr. Rowlette.

The following new members were elected to the Society: Mr. H. Dockrell, Dawson Court, Blackrock; Mr. T. A. Fannin, 32 Herbert Park; Mr. C. McGloughlin, 35 Pembroke Park, and Mr. F. O'Hanlon, 77 Ailesbury Road.

A paper was read by Professor J. Busteed on "Economic Barometers."

On the motion of Mr. C. Eason, seconded by Mr. J. Hooper, a vote of thanks was accorded to the reader of the paper.

In the discussion on the paper the following took part: the President, Mr. Geary, Mr. Mortished, Mr. Barrington and Professor Shields.

SECOND MEETING

(16th December, 1926).

The Society met on Thursday, December 16th, at 8 p.m., at the Royal Irish Academy, the President, Mr. Justice Meredith, in the chair.