Recent Submissions

  • Orpheus the Epic Poet: Reading the Argonautika by Orpheus in the tradition of Homer and Apollonios Rhodios 

    Madela, Alexandra Maria (Trinity College Dublin. School of Histories & Humanities. Discipline of Classics, 2021)
    The Argonautika by Orpheus , a late antique epic poem by an anonymous author, has until now received little scholarly attention. This investigation studies the work as an epic poem, with particular attention to the anonymous ...
  • Neoplatonism in Nonnus' Dionysiaca: Aesthetics, Allegory, and Inspiration 

    Walker, Guy Samuel (Trinity College Dublin. School of Histories & Humanities. Discipline of Classics, 2021)
    My PhD thesis offers a sustained analysis of Nonnus of Panopolis Dionysiaca and its Neoplatonic influences. The 5th century epic-encomium was produced in the predominantly Christian literary environment of Alexandria or ...
  • Exile in Plutarch's Parallel Lives 

    Gwozdecky, Graham Scott (Trinity College Dublin. School of Histories & Humanities. Discipline of Classics, 2021)
    Throughout Plutarch s Parallel Lives, many of his subjects go into exile willingly or by force. The aim of this thesis is to determine whether Plutarch found exile to be an exceptional theme, whether the work On Exile can ...
  • Tomb Readers: Anthropological Approaches to the Funerary Archaeology of Prepalatial Crete 

    FINN, ELLEN (Trinity College Dublin. School of Histories & Humanities. Discipline of Classics, 2020)
    This thesis investigates the use of anthropological approaches in the interpretation of the funerary archaeology of Prepalatial Crete (c.3200-1900 B.C.). It examines the ongoing discourse between sociocultural anthropology ...
  • Sic hominum genus est : animals and the continuum of life in the De rerum natura of Lucretius 

    Zinn, Pamela (Trinity College (Dublin, Ireland). Department of Classics, 2015)
    The objective of this thesis is to analyze the place of animals in Lucretius' account of Epicurean philosophy of mind. It uses philosophy of mind to investigate his representation of animals in De rerum natura and the ...

View more